Australian Embassy
Belgium, Luxembourg and Mission to the European Union and NATO

140508 Australia EU Agreement

Australia and EU agree to collaborate on health research infrastructure

Ms Ana Arana Antelo, Head of Unit, Research Infrastructures, DG Research and Innovation, European Commission; Professor Ronald Quinn, Director, Eskitis Institute for Cell and Molecular Therapies; Dr Stewart Hay, CEO, Therapeutic Innovation Australia; Ambassador Duncan Lewis; Dr. Ronald Frank, Leibniz-Institut für Molekulare Pharmakologie, EU-OPENSCREEN Coordinator (16 May)



Ambassador Duncan Lewis had the pleasure of hosting a signing ceremony between Australia’s Therapeutic Innovation Australia (TIA) and EU-OPENSCREEN on 16 May. The Ambassador, along with Ana Arana Antelo representing the European Commission, congratulated the project leaders and highlighted the importance of scientific collaboration between Australia and Europe.

This followed the event on 8 May involving TIA, Australia’s National Imaging Facility (NIF) and Therapeutic Innovation Australian (TIA) to formalise agreements to collaborate with European research infrastructure partners EuroBioimaging, ECRIN and EATRIS. The signing of these agreements is an important development following the third European Union - Australia Workshop on Research Infrastructure, held in Melbourne in November 2013.

Professor Graham Galloway, National Imaging Facility (left) and Professor Dr Oliver Speck, Euro-BioImaging 

Dr Stewart Hay, Therapeutic Innovation Australia (left) and Dr Frank de Man, European Infrastructure for Translational Medicine (EATRIS)





Dr Stewart Hay (left), Therapeutic Innovation Australia, Professor Jacques Demotes Mainard (centre), European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network (ECRIN) and Dr Rafael de Andres-Medina (right), ECRIN