Australian Embassy
Belgium, Luxembourg and Mission to the European Union and NATO


Upcoming events


The Australian Mission to the EU and NATO and Embassy to Belgium and Luxembourg

invites you to join a panel event on

Violence against women online:

Impact on gender equality & women’s participation in public life

Tuesday, 30 November 2021

9:00-10:00 AM CET (Brussels) | 7:00-8:00 PM AEDT (Canberra)


Register here to attend this virtual event.

The discussion will focus on the following topics:

  • Creating a safer online environment for all
  • Addressing violence against women online
  • Supporting women’s participation in public life.

Featured speakers:

Julie Inman Grant, Australian eSafety Commissioner

Helena Dalli, European Union Commissioner for Equality

Kate Jenkins, Australian Sex Discrimination Commissioner




Past events

Supporting civil society to protect civic space in South-East Asia

Wednesday, 24 February 2021
10:00-11:30 CET (Brussels) /
16:00-17:30 ICT (Hanoi)
Online seminar (Webex)

Hosted by International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (International IDEA) and the Australian Mission to the European Union



Wednesday 9 December 2020

16:00-17:15 CET (Brussels, Geneva)

10:00-11:15 EST (Washington)


Watch to hear the perspectives and insights of international experts on what can be achieved in the lead up to MC12 to reform the WTO.

Our expert panel, was moderated by Australian Ambassador to the WTO, George Mina, included:


  1. Marie-Pierre Vedrenne, Member of the European Parliament, Vice President of the European Parliament’s Committee on International Trade
  2. Ignacio Garcia Bercero, Director responsible for WTO matters at the European Commission’s Directorate General Trade
  3. Wendy Cutler, Vice President and Managing Director at Asia Society Policy Institute, Washington D.C.

Introduction by H.E. Justin Brown, Australian Ambassador to the EU

Watch the recording of this event here: link and password: Australia2020



Our expert panel was moderated by Philippa Nuttall-Jones, Editor-in-chief, Energy Monitor, included:

  1. Mr Gwenole Cozigou, Director, Directorate General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs (DG GROW), European Commission
  2. Ms Jessica Robinson, General Manager, Australian Critical Minerals Facilitation Office
  3. Mr Jacques Eksteen, Chief Operating Officer, Australian Future Battery Industries Cooperative Research Centre (FBICRC)
  4. Mr Bernd Schӓfer, Chief Executive Officer, European Institute of Innovation and Technology Raw Materials (EIT Raw Materials)

Introduction by H.E. Justin Brown, Australian Ambassador to the EU

Watch the recording of this event here: link with the password Australia1